Tags

, , ,

bzz Garnier HydraWhen I was a senior in college, I had the chance to spend six months in London on a study-abroad program. Forget culture, castles, royalty, history (well, I enjoyed those too) – I was obsessed with the plethora of new beauty products now at my fingertips. Boots, the British version of Walgreens/CVS was a treasure trove. Finding new beauty brands to try was ridiculous amounts of fun.

One of the brands I latched on to was Garnier Fructis, for my haircare needs. This was back in fall of 2002, and Garnier was not yet widely available or well known in the States. They were nourishing, smelled great, and carried the cachet of being something that none of my friends back at home had access to yet.

And now, ten + years later, I had the chance to try Garnier’s new line of products – Hydra Recharge – via my role as a BzzAgent. I hadn’t used Garnier regularly in some time, but Garnier Hydra is a great line of hydrating products, plain and simple.

First off, it smells amazing. It’s fruity, but not in an overly aggressive HELLO MY HAIR SMELLS LIKE COCONUTS way that some mass-market brands tend to be. Overwhelming, one-note fragrance in hair products, not my fave. For the record, the great smell comes from goji berry, passionfruit and kiwi. Come on, how classy is that??

I tried the following products: Hydra Recharge Shampoo – “a hydration innovator”, according to Garnier, “featuring for the first time thousands of beads that burst on impact”. You can see the beads in the close-up picture above. And despite this being a clear shampoo (something I associate with clarifying shampoos), it was extremely hydrating.

Hydra Recharge Conditioner contains “superfruits goji berry, passion fruit and kiwi to actively replenish without heaviness” and Hydra Recharge 1-Minute Moisture-Plenish Treatment is “a powerful deep treatment whose revolutionary lightweight crème-gel formula transforms dry hair with a surge of high-performance hydration in just one minute”. [All information in quotations is from Garnier’s promotional materials.] To be honest, I couldn’t tell much of a difference between the regular conditioner and the treatment. It looked, smelled and felt the same without any discernible difference in my hair. Which is fine – no harm, no foul and they both worked great – just didn’t see the need for the two different products.

Another item of note about the Garnier Fructis Hydra Recharge line – they claim that the silky results from this line of products last for up to “two days”. I found this to be true – after blowing out my hair, it stayed amazing looking for longer than usual. I wore it down for two days straight and it looked great.

Disclaimer: I was provided this product, potentially for review, via my role as a BzzAgent. However, this is MY blog, and all opinions and experiences are 100% my own.