Tags

, , , ,

About a month ago, philosophy was doing a giveaway on their Facebook page – you gave them your info, and there was a chance you’d be “picked” and get a sample of their new skincare product, Time in a Bottle. I entered and was “picked” – and promptly forgot about it.

A few weeks later, my Time in a Bottle sample arrived – it’s always a nice surprise to get a sample in the mail, especially when you’ve completely forgotten about it. It was a good sized sample – not just a foil packet – and I put it away with my other skincare. I didn’t think much of it – but about a week later, pulled it out and used it at night.

time in a bottleUmmm can you say HOLY GRAIL??? I woke up the NEXT morning with glowy skin of amazing-ness. I kept on using it – in the morning, under my usual moisturizer, and at night, either on its own or under a night cream. And the amazing-ness continued.

I got about a week and a half out of the sample and promptly went to look it up online to see about ordering more. My heart sank when I saw that it goes for $74. But then I thought, is glowy skin of amazing-ness worth $74?? At the time, I thought not, and moved on to an Olay serum that I had laying around. I started to re-think my position on expensive skincare when I woke up post-Olay with giant pores and oily skin. Neither glowy nor amazing.

Currently, I’m using up a sample of Lancome’s Génifique, which is also a great product (I love me a good Lancome GWP). I really am considering buying Time in a Bottle when I’m done with the Lancome. Is that crazy??

But when you think about it, when drugstore serums like Olay and others go for $15-25 a pop and don’t work that well at all (in my experience), isn’t it worth it to shell out for something that you *know* will give you glowy skin of amazingness???

Thoughts, people – give me your thoughts. What is your facial serum of choice? Are big-ticket items that are certifiably HG status worth the expense?

Salut,
bijou

