Tags

, , , ,

I caved. AKA, I’m now a Julep Maven. Julep is a nail salon based in the Seattle area, and they offer a monthly subscription service that provides nail polish and other beauty items. I’d read quite a bit about Julep and their services on various beauty blogs and boards, and I was curious to see what they had to offer. Plus – here comes the enabling! – I figured it was a good way to capitalize on my New Year’s resolution of being one of those girls who always has nice nails.

Here’s the gist of it, according to Julep’s website: Becoming a Julep Maven gives you exclusive access to COLOR. Each month we hand-pick trendsetting new nail colors, cult faves and cutting-edge beauty products that are just right for you. Commitment shy? No problem. YOU decide how often to receive your Julep Maven box, and you can cancel at any time.

IMG_9809

There are five different style profiles, and after taking the quiz, you can see what your profile offers in the way of nail color. According to the quiz, I’m a “Classic with A Twist” – which, in Julep-ese, means I’m “an iconic beauty with a timeless aesthetic.” However, once I logged in and saw the intro box choices, I was much more drawn to the Bombshell polishes than those associated with Classic with A Twist. Which is kind of funny, because “Bombshell” is the last word I’d ever associate with myself. But that’s another feature of Julep that I like – even though you are initially pegged as a certain beauty profile, you can switch at any time if there is another box that strikes your fancy.

IMG_9812 IMG_9817

My Bombshell Intro Box included Julep’s cuticle oil (more about this later), two nail polish colors – Chelsea and Kathleen – and a lip balm.

IMG_9819 IMG_9822

Meet Kathleen (Bombshell): a “honey gold flecked champagne shimmer”. Very, very pretty. And I love a good gold nail polish.

IMG_9820And this, is Chelsea (Bombshell): a “violet, silver and purple multidimensional full coverage glitter”. I used this immediately and loved it.

My box also contained Julep’s Essential Cuticle Oil, an “all-natural blend of essential oils and Vitamin E hydrates and strengthens nails and cuticles which extends the life of your manicure while leaving a glossy sheen.” My favorite thing about this product is the ingenious packaging – it has a rollerball applicator, which means no more smearing oil on your nails and getting it everywhere (or is that just me?). It seems like something that would be so obvious, design-wise, but I don’t think I’ve ever seen this kind of applicator in a nail treatment product before.

Finally, I also received Julep’s Daylight Defense Lip Balm which promises to “nourish, hydrate, and protect your lips with this vanilla mint flavored lip balm.” I wasn’t expecting this – it wasn’t advertised as part of the box – but it’s always nice to have an extra lip balm around, IMO.

I was impressed with my first Julep box and am looking forward to seeing what they offer in future months. I like the flexibility of being able to skip a month or gift a month to a friend. I have a feeling I’ll be skipping for a few months though, to make up for the haul that I purchased earlier this week. More on that later…

Interested in being a Julep Maven, too? Click here for more information.

