Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

When I signed up for automatic shipments of QVC’s New Beauty Test Tube, one of the past quarter’s test tubes was still available for purchase. And contained two products that I’d been wanting to use for quite some time. How did I show such amazing self-restraint and not purchase it? I guess we’ll never know…

QVC_2012 Q3_entire box

The contents of my QVC 2012 Quarter 3 Test Tube:

QVC_2012 Q3_Laura Geller eye spackle

Laura Geller Waterproof Eye Spackle {full size, $23 value}: An eyeshadow primer with major staying power – I’ve used this several times and been pleased with the results. It comes with a “click pen” dispenser and I learned the hard way not to get too much product on my lids – it seems to work best with just a little dab. I’m not sure I would pay this much for an eye primer in general, but it’s definitely a product I’ll use regularly and was nice to receive as part of the Test Tube.

QVC_2012 Q3_josie maran

Josie Maran 100% Pure Argan Oil Daily Moisturizer {full size 1.7 oz for $48; sample size .17 oz with value of $4.80}. This was one of the products I had been majorly wanting to try, and prompted my purchase of the Test Tube. So far, I’ve used it as a face oil and also on my hair (ends only). I couldn’t tell a major difference in my hair, but I did like the results on my skin. It made me glowy, but in a “perfect skin” kind of way, versus oily. It’s a small bottle but I think it will last for quite a while – a little goes a long way with this product.

QVC_2012 Q3_Bliss body butter

bliss lemon+sage body butter {1.7 oz for $6}. Bliss products have never let me down – my main experience with them has been via hotel toiletries (W Hotels stock mini versions of their products in their rooms). The scent is fresh and citrusy, and it’s always great to have small versions of body lotion on hand. No complaints here.

QVC_2012 Q3_mally lip shine

Mally High Shine Liquid Lip Color in “Starburst” {full size, value of $20}. This is a gorgeous color – the perfect shade of pink for me. I’ve written before about my love for these lip glosses – it’s so rare to find one that isn’t drying (for me, at least) AND has staying power. This is definitely in my regular rotation for lip color.

QVC_2012 Q3_Ojon conditioner

Ojon Damage Reverse Restorative Conditioner {full size 8.5 oz for $25; sample size is 2 oz with a value of $5.88}. I love this conditioner – it makes my hair soft and shiny, and it smells fabulous – sort of woodsy meets perfumey but not too much of either, if that makes sense. I’ve been pairing this with a clarifying shampoo that I received in my January Birchbox. I always love experimenting with different hair products, and this is a stand-out.

QVC_2012 Q3_philosophy gel

philosophy love sweet love shampoo, bath & shower gel {full size 16 oz for $24; sample size is 1 oz with a value of $1.50}. Shower gel is one of those things that is always nice to receive in a subscription box, but not something that I’m passionate about. I use a mix of high and low brands and philosophy is a nice addition. This scent is a little too “perfumey” for my tastes, but nothing that would make me not use this up.

QVC_2012 Q3_Smashbox primerSmashbox Photo Finish Foundation Primer {full size 1 oz for $36; sample size is .5 oz with a value of $18}. This was the second product that made me jump for this Test Tube. I’ve heard amazing things about this primer and from my experience so far, every word is true. It gives my skin a nice matte-ish finish and keeps foundation and blush in place all day long. I didn’t start using primer until recently, but it really does make a huge difference. Especially, I think, for someone like me who doesn’t wear a lot of face make-up – instead of wearing off by the afternoon, my makeup looks as good at 4 PM as it did at 7 AM at the original application. This is going on my “must buy” list for when the sample runs out.

QVC_2012 Q3_Algenist

Algenist Firming Cream {full size 2 oz for $94; sample size is .5 oz with a value of $23.50}. Algenist wasn’t a brand I was familiar with before my Test Tube subscription, but I’m now the proud owner of this firming cream and their eye cream.  I’ve used this a few times – waiting to use up some other product before I switch my focus – but it leaves my skin in a great state. I can’t tell any major “firming” results (which I’m not really looking for at this stage of the game anyways) but it is definitely a high-impact moisturizer.

If it’s not totally obvious already, I’m absolutely in love with the QVC New Beauty Test Tube subscription. It offers major bang for the buck – both of the tubes I received have a value of 3-4 times what I originally paid – and has a great array of different types of products and brands. I also like the fact that it only comes quarterly – it makes it seem more special and it’s fun to receive so many products in just one delivery.

